Birthday Cleaning,Vegetable Risotto & a Cowl for Emily

Good Freezing Morning!

My List of ‘Birthday Cleaning’ and I (in Fayvor-gifted shearling slippers) are procrastinating.

…there’s something not so appealing about cleaning today for my birthday in preparation for a party.

You see, I feel like my slippers and I have hit the jackpot today having stumbled into a few new blogs.  It’s been *really hard to pry myself away from them.  Mainly because my jaw is agape at the knitting ideas. colors. textures…

Here’s what I’m talking about:

  • Look at the hare on this sweater! And this Neckline! I’m definitely bookmarking this blog. Her aesthetic is really appealing to me. Just the right amount of delicateness, detail, and simplicity.
  • Then, there’s this other blog that whispers fairytale and whimsy. Her patterns are tickling what must be the Japanese side of my genes.  Oh, to have a littler girl and make her these rabbit slippers!  And these gloves–I just might have to make them for me.
  • Striking photos that bring me to another place emotionally are just..just… *wow*  I would love to be cozy, slippered, inside (with a cup of tea) looking out at this glorious snowfall.

….Reluctantly, it’s time again to do another thing on the list. I’ve broken up house cleaning into manageable chunks. Each chunk a checkbox to be completed hourly.  (bleh)

Reward:  Having someone come in to help clean post-party. (WHOO HOO!)

Currently on the Needles:  Maybe a Cowl for Emily

Last House Dinner:  Mixed Vegetable Risotto

Makes enough for 4 Generous Servings

Something simple and medium level on the ‘quickness’ scale– in order to get back to those knitting projects.  I love how there’s no cream in here (aside from a pat or two of butter) to give it that richness.

Ingredients:

  • 1 peeled carrot, small diced
  • 1 onion, caramelized (see note)
  • 1 small parsnip peeled, diced
  • 1 & 3/4 C. of arborio rice
  • ~3-4 tbs your choice oil or butter (I used butter)
  • 2/3 C. your choice white wine or brandy (I used brandy)
  • 5-6 C. of your choice stock (I used chicken)
  • S/P (I used truffle salt & black pepper)
  • 1 Bundle of Spinach
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 2-3 tbs your choice oil (I used butter)
  1. Peel and cut your vegetables to have them ready.  Make your carmelized onion by slicing your onion & saute’ing it until soft with your choice oil(butter) & herb(thyme)
  2. Saute the diced vegetables in oil/butter until tender but not mushy. Put those aside.
  3. Have your stock ready, covered and simmering.
  4. Into a pot with a wide bottom goes a bit of your oil. Saute the rice in this oil just to coat the rice.
  5. Add in your wine or brandy. Cook 1/2 of that off.
  6. Start adding in your stock 1 (cup sized) ladle at at time. You’ll know when it’s time to add the next ladle when you’re almost at the point where the rice is going to start sticking to the bottom of the pot. Hit Repeat several times.
  7. Right when you think your rice is just nearing the point where it can’t take any more, add in your pre-sauteed veg. And the rest of what liquid you think your rice can hold.
  8. Season to taste (truffle salt and pepper or maybe parmesan perhaps)
  9. Serve with the quick saute’d spinach with garlic (oil in pan hot, toss around garlic for a few seconds, add spinach, and cook until just the right amount of wilt)

Comments
2 Responses to “Birthday Cleaning,Vegetable Risotto & a Cowl for Emily”
  1. I’m making risotto tonight! I hope mine turns out as good as yours looks.

Leave a Reply

