>"Non-Season" Banana Cake

>

Banana Cake w/ Caramel Sauce

With the weather being a bit yo yo-y lately, it’s been really difficult for me to peg down what I’m hungry for. I’m reluctant to admit that my stomach tends to gravitate towards cliché meals that tend to match the weather and or seasons; pumpkin praline pie in the fall and hearty vegetable soups during the cold nights. If only I could be the odd one having ceviche in the dead of winter! But, that’s all relative anyway, right?

I guess I’ll have to settle with being the more obvious odd one carrying around…er wearing… a winter coat in 65 °F weather. I might as well have “so cal girl” stapled… Ooo *delete* stamped (less painful sounding) to my forehead—the weather is something I’m not sure that I’ll ever get used to, Burr!

But, I digress, so back to San Francisco yo-yo weather. My hunger pangs are sooo utterly confused!

Not wanting to settle with any season-oriented food, the tummy roulette finally settled on Banana cake, one of my “non-season” conforming deserts.

Banana Cake

1 cup (145 grams) all-purpose flour
1/8 teaspoon baking powder
pinch of baking soda
8 tablespoons (1 stick) (113 grams) unsalted butter, softened
1 1/2 tablespoons (20 grams) olive oil

3/4 cup (150 grams) sugar
4 large eggs
1 extra-ripe (almost black) medium banana, peeled and mashed
1 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 325°F. Butter and dust a brownie pan with flour, tapping out the excess.

Sift the dry ingredients together.
Combine the sugar, butter, vanilla extract, and olive oil on low using a mixer w/ paddle.
Add the eggs into this mixer one by one.
Add in the mashed banana

Add in the sifted dry ingredients and mix only until combined.

Bake at 315-325 °F for at least 50 minutes

Leave a Reply

