>Houri is a good friend of mine whom I’ve had the pleasure of knowing for let’s see.. maybe eight (?) years now. Yes, that is quite a long time for me being that I’m 24. She’s very lively, super intelligent, and very beautiful. She reminds me a lot of my cat Todd. 😉 Houri is also one of the few people who actively tries to make herself and the world around her better. Anyhooo.. enough of the mushy crap… so she and her new Man, who I will lovingly call “Mr. T,” (not to be confused with the other Mr. T (no I’m not talking of the A Team Mr. T) came to dinner the other night.
On the menu for the night, a mix of Ethnic fare–Hummus, Tandoori Chicken, Bulgarian Feta with fresh Mint (from my garden::preen::), Saffron Rice, Cucumber Mint Yogurt, Eggplant Badmejan (sp?), and Baklava.
I’d post a picture of her and Mr. T if I was certain I could, but since she absolutely hates it when I take her picture, I’m assuming that I should play it safe and just stick with the food pics. (Though if you wanted to see what she looks like and what Mr. T looks like, you could just go to her blog here)
Alright, so back to the food. I must confess that I was a bit of a lazy munchkin having just gotten back from work at six. So I had ran to the Wholesome Choice (local Iranian mart) and also to India Sweets and Spices (Local Indian Shop) and picked up a few things.
I wish I could tell you here that I made the Baklava, but.. this would be one of the things I picked up out of laziness. However, I did make the Tandoori Chicken (sans Tandoor–random factoid: the CIA Napa has an actual Tandoor Oven!) as well as the cucumber yogurt and hummus. Ideally, this chicken would have been blackened a bit….

Recipes:

Tandoori Chicken
Curtesy of My Friend from the Office, Reema

4 Large Pieces of Chicken Breast
Ginger Paste-1tsp
Garlic-1 tsp
Cummin Powder-1 tsp
Corriander Powder-1 tsp
Tandoori dry masaala-1flat tsp
Tandoori paste-tip of tsp
Tomato paste-small can 2 oz.
Salt-1tsp
Red Chili Powder-1/4 tsp
Plain yogurt ½ cup

Put all the ingredients on the chicken and make sure you mix them with your hands so you cover all the chicken. You can either barbeque this or bake in the oven.

If BBQing, medium heat and turn over frequently, end results should be a little blackened but not burned.

If baking it in the oven, preheat to 400 degrees. Squirt a little bit of olive oil all over the chicken, cover it with foil and poke holes and bake for 14 min. Take foil off, turn (mix) and bake at 325 for another 15 minutes to dry the sauce a little. To blacken, leave it on the lower rack and turn the broiler on for 3-5 minutes.


Hummus
Curtesy of Epicurious.com

4 garlic cloves
1 tsp salt
2 1lb 3 ounce cans of chick peas, drained and rinsed
2/3 cup well stirred tahini
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice, or to taste
1/2 cup olive oil, or to taste
1/4 cup fresh parsley leaves
2 tbs pine nuts, toasted lightly

Mash the garlic to a paste with teh salt. In a food processor puree the chick-peas with the garlic paste, the tahini, and lemon juice, 1/4 cup of the oil, and 1/2 cup water, scraping down the sides, until the hummus is smooth and add salt to taste. Add water, if necessary, to thin the hummas to the desired consistency and transfer to a bowl. In the cleaned food processor, puree the remaining 1/4 cup oil with the parsley until the oil is bright green and the parsley is minced transfer the parsley oil to a small jar (or whatever). The hummas and the parsley oil may be made 3 days in advance and kept covered and chilled. Divide the hummus between shallow serving dishes and smooth the tops. Drizzle the hummus with the parsley oil and sprinkle it with the pine nuts.

Comments
2 Responses to “”
  1. >Thanks, I always wondered how to make hummus! Not that I’m planning on trying or anything.. I tried a spicy version a few times in Israel, I think they used cumin and coriander in the mix but also sprinkled some on top.Also, I found an Arabic spice called ‘sumac’ (I think it comes from a type of tree bark) that tastes great sprinkled over saffron rice and grilled chicken. Next time you’re at that Iranian mart..

  2. >Thanks Nick : )I’ll look up sumac. I thought it was poisonous though??Yikes! I think I just made a politically incorrect booboo in calling it the Iranian Mart.. Maybe Iranian Grocery is better?

Leave a Reply

